What is a name of a US Army rank?

What is a name of a US Army rank?

There are 13 enlisted Army ranks: private, private second class, private first class, specialist, corporal, sergeant, staff sergeant, sergeant first class, master sergeant, first sergeant, sergeant major, command sergeant major and sergeant major of the Army.

What are the US military ranks in order?

They plan missions, give orders and assign Soldiers tasks.

  • Second Lieutenant. Typically the entry-level rank for most commissioned officers. …
  • First Lieutenant. A seasoned lieutenant with 18 to 24 months of service. …
  • Captain. …
  • Major. …
  • Lieutenant Colonel. …
  • Colonel. …
  • Brigadier General. …
  • Major General.

What are the top ranks in the US Army?

The highest military rank is O-10, or “five-star general.” It is symbolized by five stars for each of the military services.

What are the 3 categories of army ranks?

U.S. Army ranks and insignias are divided into three categories: enlisted personnel (E-1 through E-9), warrant officers (W-1 through W-9) and commissioned officers (O-1 through O-10). A service member’s rank and insignia indicate their pay grade, as well as the level of responsibility they hold.

How do you write your military rank and name?


  1. General: Gen.
  2. Lieutenant General: Lt. Gen.
  3. Major General: Maj. Gen.
  4. Brigadier General: Brig. Gen.
  5. Colonel: Col.
  6. Lieutenant Colonel: Lt. Col.
  7. Major: Maj.
  8. Captain: Capt.

What are the 5 ranks of generals?

The highest rank in the Army, Air Force, and Marine Corps is General (four star), followed by Lieutenant General (three star), Major General (two star) and Brigadier General (one star). Five men have held the rank of General of the Army (five star), George C. Marshall, Douglas MacArthur, Dwight D.

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

fourteen − two =